top of page
  • Writer's pictureShayna McKinley

Kaiju No. 8

My best friend recently got into this series so I decided to give it a shot as well.


The story is focused on an adult male, Kafka Hibino, who is on the monster (kaiju) clean-up society while his childhood friend, Mina Ashiro, is on the Defense Force, that hunts down and eliminates kaiju. Kafka is a bit of an underachiever, and is constantly whining about his lot in life but isn't really willing to do anything about it. A new arrival to the clean-up crew, Leno Ichikawa, inspires him to follow his dreams.


After saving Leno's life, Kafka accidentally swallows a miniature kaiju, turning himself into a kaiju. Unlike the others though, he is capable of returning to human form and uses that ability to escape the Defense Force. The irony of all ironies, he is actually accepted to join the Defense Force, along with Leno, who is the only one that knows his secret.


The two take place in a series of trials that end with Kafka revealing his secret to some of their fellow recruits.


The story will no doubt continue in volume two which I am not sure about. The series was okay but I'm not overly fond of Kafka. He's whiny and lazy and only wants to win the affection of Mina. Leno actually wants to help people and is far more likable. I have no doubt that the story will grow on me if I continue to read but I'm not entirely certain that I want to get into it. I'll decide later, maybe take a vote on it? Not sure yet. Check in again soon!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Am Alice

This is a short series, only containing three volume which is why I waited until I had finished it before I did a review of it. I was lucky enough to get the first two volumes in an Alice in Wonderlan

Platinum End

This series follows Mirai, a suicidal high school student. Just as he prepares to commit suicide, he is saved by Nasse, an angel. Nasse grants him powers so that he can fly, force people to do as he s

Phantom Tales of the Night

While still a relatively new series, it has been around long enough to have at least 9 volumes, of which I have only read (and possessed) one. The story focuses on people (and monsters) that have some

bottom of page